If you had a DUI in your past and are facing a DUI again, now is a good time to look at the kinds of penalties that you could face.
Even a first-time DUI is negative in Tennessee, but a second, third, fourth or subsequent charge will be treated much more strictly. If this is your second offense, you can expect to face harsher penalties. For third and fourth offenses, those penalties are even more severe.
A second DUI in Tennessee
When you get a second DUI conviction in Tennessee, you could face penalties such as:
- Having to install an Ignition Interlock Device at your own expense if you’ve had two DUIs within five years
- Losing your vehicle due to vehicle seizure/forfeiture
- A mandatory fine of between $600 and $3,500
- Up to 11 months and 29 days in jail
- Having to go to an alcohol and drug treatment program
- A license restriction for two years
- Paying restitution to anyone harmed by your actions
These penalties are only administrative and criminal. They don’t account for other issues, like the loss of a job or higher cost of auto insurance.
A third-time DUI offense
With a third-time DUI offense, you could face up to 11 months and 29 days in jail. The mandatory fine also grows to up to $10,000.
Additional penalties may include:
- Going to an alcohol and drug addiction treatment program
- Having your vehicle seized
- A license revocation of up to six years
- Needing to install an Ignition Interlock Device for six months if at least two of your DUI convictions has taken place in the last five years
These penalties are severe, but they are not the worst that could happen. With fourth and subsequent convictions, you’ll see greater penalties.
4th convictions for DUIs
When you have four or more DUIs in Tennessee, you’ll now face a Class E Felony. Jail time starts at a year with a minimum sentence of 150 days. Fines increase up to $15,000.
These and other penalties are possible. If you’re facing allegations of a DUI, don’t be afraid to defend yourself. Your defense may help protect your rights.